Junior Tour of Wales stages 1 & 2

Posted in Events by admin. No Comments

Monmouthshire to host 2014 British Cycling National Road Championships


Posted in Events by admin. No Comments

View from one of our peloton safety bikes on the Tour of Britain as it came into Caerphilly

Click for video Llanbradach to Caerphilly Tour of Britain

Posted in Events by admin. No Comments

NFTO Junior Tour of Wales

The team is off to work on the three day Junior Tour this weekend.

The R.I.S. Junior Tour of Wales Cycle Race is one of the longest standing junior cycle races in the U.K.

The race consists of 5 stages of racing over just 3 days of the August Bank Holiday. Like most grand tours it starts with an individual time trial. This is followed by 3 road race stages and a closed road circuit race at Bryn Bach Park. The race travels through the counties of Gwent, Dyfed, Powys and throught the dramatic scenery of the Brecon Beacons

The race is based in Blaenau Gwent and is supported by NFTO Race and the local council.

The race has attracted riders from France, Holland, Eire, Spain and America. Several members of the professional peleton have ridden the Junior Tour of Wales including – David Millar, World Road Race Champion Mark Cavendish and Geraint Thomas. Geraint rode the Junior Tour in 2004 winning the points competition and finishing second overall. He is now the patron of the race.

more details here http://www.juniortourofwales.org

Posted in Events by admin. No Comments

Norman Harris Road Race

Matt Rowe (NFTO) won a two-up sprint finish to the Norman Harris Memorial Road Race, staged on roads around Usk in Monmouthshire on Sunday.


A full field of 80 riders took to the start line of the inaugural Norman Harris Memorial Race on a beautiful, sunny day.
The race took in four circuits of a 16-mile lap from Gwehelog to Raglan and via Chainbridge to Usk taking a long, steady climb back up to Gwehelog where there was a prime on the first three laps. At the end of the fourth lap the race continued for three miles to a finish line on the edge of Raglan.
As soon as the flag dropped riders tried to establish a break but the peloton wasn’t prepared to let anyone get a substantial lead. First time up the climb and it was Adrian Lawson (Cadence RT) who took the prime with a short gap to the bunch. The second lap followed a similar pattern and it was again Lawson who took the second prime.
On the third lap a break pulled clear including Matt Rowe (NFTO), Richard Harris (Cwmcarn Paragon), Ben Davis (Bristol RC) and Vincent Thomas (Forza Cycles RT). The bunch were looking unlikely to let the lead grow but it was Davis who led over the prime to take the third and final prize.
Shortly after the third climb the elastic started to stretch and crossing the finish line for the start of the final lap the group led by 45 seconds leaving the race in the balance.
The break continued to work hard and coming into the finish they kept the peloton at bay. Rowe and Harris pulled clear of their companions to fight in out in a close two up sprint with Rowe taking the victory. Davies took third a second behind and Thomas fourth another second back. A fast charging bunch came in 15 seconds further back leaving a nightmare for the judges.
Matt Beckett (Cardiff JIF) took the bunch sprint for fifth narrowly ahead of James Phillips (Severn RC) and Gerry Bowditch (NFTO).
The organisers would like to thanks all the volunteers who helped produce a successful first running of the event that was a fitting tribute to Norman’s memory. Also many thanks to the commissaires, Welsh NEG, CSAS marshals, Medibike and Welsh Cycling for all the help and advice given throughout plus to the riders for putting on a good race.
1 Matt Rowe (NFTO)
2 Richard Harris (Cwmcarn Paragon)
3 Ben Davis (Bristol RC)
4 Vincent Thomas (Forza Cycles RT)
5 Matt Beckett (Cardiff JIF)
6 James Phillips (Severn RC)
7 Gerry Bowditch (NFTO)
8 Courtney Rowe (Cardiff JIF)
9 Nick Preece (Climb on Bikes CC)
10 Graeme Boswell (Cardiff Ajax CC)
11 Lewis Bevan (unattached)
12 Robert Jones (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)
13 John Fitzpatrick (Abergavenny RC)
14 Danielle King (Wiggle Honda)
15 Julian Attfield (Cardiff Ajax CC)

Location: Usk, Monmouthshire
Event: 5 May 2013
Report: Mark Prosser/Snowdon Sports
Photos: Huw Fairclough

credit www.britishcycling.org.uk

Posted in Events by admin. No Comments

Dangerous driving by team car

Not what we want to see, unfortunately some team drivers leave all sense behind when they are driving in a race and have no regard for the safety of the Moto’s.


Posted in Events by admin. No Comments